top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlex Laferriere

2023 New Years gaming resolutions

My New Years gaming resolution is to play a few new systems I’ve had my eye on. Would love an experienced person around Rhode Island to run them at least once. -Genesys -PbtA (Dungeon World) -Savage Worlds

Bonus: I love Eberron.




I ran my first Ten Candles game last Halloween. And it. Was. Awesome. The game/system itself is delightfully wonderful and designed masterfully. It will be a seasonal must for sure. Secondly, it MADE MY HEAD SPIN and influenced how I would run D&D/DM. I have never “sat back” more than in I did running Ten Candles and really chimed in when I saw a story opportunity/ask for a roll. More-so, it was a roll, not for success, but for narrative control. So, I learned to ask for rolls AFTER things were said to happen in the story, rather than before they happened and the obvious choice was (success or failure). Narrative controlled allowed for more 'creative story power' and you always want to try to wrestle that away from the active player by calling for a roll. Rather than - I burst in the door (okay, roll to see if you do). Let the player run with their story (yeah, you've found a station, run up to it, its clear, burst open the door and...) roll for it. Even in D&D terms "Strength(Athletics) DC 20", if the player succeeds, they win the ability to determine what's beyond that door. Even if they lost, The DM could award them the narrative control but with a degree of failure, or struggle, or set back. Their choice.


*(One key takeaway was- tell the players they are to tell the story as they like. I think this is an antedate to a players tendency to one-day, possible, curb toward the “I use persuasion to win him over” type of gaming/storytelling) This takeaway stems from the “story last” mindset and definite “one shot” mentality which allowed for anyone to build the world and what’s in it. It is very collaborative, and as a GM, it felt liberating. (And fun/exciting again as even I didn’t truly know what the world was going to look like. I’ve always wanted that as a DM, without random tables to determine the hex etc.) Though I could see how that could become unwieldy in a published world/long term campaign.

This is why I’d like to play in other systems (in that order) because I believe the underlying thinking/system would be a great tool in the DM toolbox.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page